Perth City – Community

South Perth Community Partnership

South Perth Community Partnership provides support for groups and individuals in the South Perth area of Moncreiffe, Friarton, Craigie and South Inch to identify issues of concern, find local solutions and encourage more involvement within the local community. The partnership members include local residents, PKC officers, local councillors and representatives from community groups and organisations working in the area.

 The Partnership carried out a community consultation in 2014. Over 1,000 households were given the opportunity to give their views through a questionnaire with a 1/3 response rate. 20 focus groups were also consulted and a Community Futures day was held with over 350 local people who attended given the opportunity to prioritise actions for the area.

5 key themes were identified and operational subgroups set up through the partnership to address the issues identified under the headings:

  • Community and Recreational Activities
  • Environment and Heritage
  • Traffic and Parking
  • Access to Services and Community Safety
  • Local Economy

North Perth Community Partnership

The North Perth Community Partnership (NPCP) vision is ‘North Perth is an active, healthy, enterprising and well-connected community where people have opportunities to learn, participate and influence local decision-making’. The Partnership’s Action Plan has five themes (and associated outcomes): Develop the NPCP, community involvement and influence, learning and personal development, health and well-being and the environment. Partners meet every two months to share information and knowledge, identify local needs and work together on community-focussed responses.  It is facilitated by the Community Workers and involves a wide range of people who live and work in the communities of North Perth.

The Partnership recognises that individuals, families, neighbours, community groups and services all have a role to play in improving residents’ experiences of living in their community and that most solutions involve several groups of people working together.

The NPCP facilitates community research projects with residents at the centre of the research so we can all understand the assets and issues within our communities. Issues range from personal or family-specific matters such as, for example, isolation, poverty, poor health and well-being, accommodation, additional support needs, adult learning and employment to those issues which can also affect whole communities such as preservation of green space and play areas, drugs and alcohol, community safety and, currently the junction improvements at the A85/new road through to the Bertha Park Development.


Community Councils

There are 7 Community Council areas in the City, although 4 are currently established. Community Councils can play an important role in giving voices to communities.   North Muirton has a Community Action Plan which includes many improvements in public realm and spaces as well as actions around using community centres for more groups for older people to prevent loneliness.

Elected Representation

Perth is covered by the Perth & North Perthshire Constituency represented by Pete Wishaw MP (SNP) for Westminster. For Holyrood Perth City is split between both the Perthshire North consistency represented by John Swinney (SNP) and the Perthshire South and Kinross-shire Constituency represented by Roseanna Cunningham (SNP). For Holyrood Perth & Kinross is in the Mid Scotland and Fife Region electing 7 MSPs:

  • Mark Ruskell (Green)
  • Alex Rowley (Independent)
  • Claire Brennan-Baker (Labour)
  • Dean Lockhart (Conservative)
  • Alexander Stewart (Conservative)
  • Murdo Fraser (Conservative)
  • Liz Smith (Conservative).

Perth City contains 3 wards (Perth City North, Centre and South) which elect 11 Councillors between them to Perth and Kinross Council. The current Councillors were elected in May 2017 and will serve until May 2022.